How can I tell if my email account is no longer secure?

We have specialist teams continually trawling the internet looking for information or suspicious activity that might suggest your email account is no longer secure. If we detect suspicious activity, we'll secure your account immediately.

You’ll know your account has been secured:

When you use webmail and you see a screen like this asking you to change your email password:

Your account security

If you use BT Yahoo email, you may see this message:

Compromised Yahoo Mail

If you access your email using an email client, mobile or tablet, you'll get repeated log in failures or password errors. Try logging in to BT webmail >

If you use a computer programme, you should run a full system scan before you start recovery. It’s important to do this before updating your password to avoid your new password being taken.

  • If you've got broadband with BT and already have BT Virus Protect, you should run it
  • If you've not yet downloaded BT Virus Protect or don't have broadband with BT, we recommend downloading one of these free anti-virus software packages: McAfee Stinger for PC or Sophos Antivirus for Mac
  • If you use a mobile device, you may want to consider taking some anti-virus software through your app store

 

If you have broadband from BT and haven't yet installed BT Virus Protect or BT Web Protect, you'll need to secure your account before you can download them.

Recovery of your BT email account will depend on how it’s set up. If you don't already have a BT ID, you'll be asked to create one and provide some additional security information. Just follow the steps and, when prompted, change your password. Remember to choose a strong password >

Once you’ve changed your password, you'll be guided through some important checks you need to carry out to maintain the security of your account.

For more help with recovery, please select one of the links below:

Find out what version of BT email you're using >

All email users are vulnerable, especially if you're using a weak password or clicking on links in phishing emails. An unsecure email account can often be used to send spam emails or viruses to people in your address book. Once you’ve followed the important steps to recover and re-secure your account it’s worth remembering the following rules:

  • Make sure you have BT Virus Protect and BT Web Protect installed and regularly run an anti-virus check on your computer
  • Don’t reply to emails that ask you to provide personal details such as account numbers or passwords as these are likely to be phishing emails. We'll never ask you to provide such information
  • Make sure the connection you’re using is safe - email accounts are regularly illegally accessed when people use smartphones or tablets on unsecured wi-fi public networks
  • When using a public or shared computer, remember to log out completely by clicking the Sign Out link, so that anyone using the computer after you won't be able to access your account
  • Avoid using the same username and password for every site that needs login details
  • When creating a password, try to create one that is difficult for anyone else to guess

If you suspect your account is no longer secure, but we’ve not restricted your access, please get in touch >

Thanks for your feedback

Please select one feedback option

Submit

Need more help?