Can I move my BT Email address to another account?

BT offers 3 types of email:

  • Standard email (which is included with BT Broadband)
  • Premium email (which you buy)
  • Basic email (which is free) 

 

You can link your BT email address to a broadband or Premium email billing account as long as:

  • You're the account holder of the gaining account
  • The gaining account already has an email address linked to it (you may need to create one first)
  • You know the password of the email address you want to move

We'll allow the move even if it means the gaining account has more than 11 email addresses (the official limit is 11). But you won't be able to create any more email addresses on your account unless you delete some first.

Before you start, check that the gaining billing account already has an email address linked to it by logging in to My BT with your BT ID and select Your Products from the top of the page.

Then scroll down to the Included in your product section, and in the Email tile hit the Manage button. 

You'll see the number of email addresses you've used when you log in. If there's no email address linked to your account, you'll need to create one. Once you've done this, you'll need to log in to My BT and follow these steps again.

Once you've logged into My BT and selected the Manage option, scroll down and click on Import an email address.

 

Import an email address

You'll need to provide the email address and password of the email you want to move and select Enter.

If the email address is linked to another BT ID, you'll be asked to provide details of this too.

Once the move is complete, you'll get a confirmation message and the email address will be shown in your email management page.

Yes, if you've already got a BT email address, you'll be able to link it to your new broadband account. You can only do this once your broadband has been set up and activated.

We'll send you confirmation of your broadband activation, and once you get this you can follow the advice to Move an email address (mailbox).

If you're moving a Basic email address, we'll automatically upgrade your email to Standard. 

If you're moving a Premium email address to your broadband account you'll no longer see ads. We'll automatically close the Premium account when the last email address is moved. 

Yes, it's the same process but the user of that email address must agree to it being moved.

Whilst we don't recommend sharing passwords, the move can only be done if the owner of the email address to be moved is happy to share their passwords with you. They'll need to do this for the email address and the BT ID it's linked to. We recommend you complete the process together.

You won't be able to move an email address used by somebody else if:

  • The user of the email address doesn't give their permission
  • It's linked to a BT ID that doesn't belong to the user of the email address
  • It's linked to a BT ID that has other email addresses linked to it and not all of those email addresses are to be moved

 

Once the email address is moved, it's very important you 'gift' it back to the other person. This means that although their email address is now linked to your account, they keep their own security details and responsibility for the email address. Once you've done this, they'll be asked to set up a new password and link it to a BT ID.

 

The email address you've moved will then appear in the friends and family section of your email management page, which looks like this:

Your friends and family addresses

 

You won't be able to move an email address used by somebody else if:

  • It's linked to a BT ID that doesn't belong to the user of the email address
  • It's linked to a BT ID that has other email addresses linked to it and not all of those email addresses are to be moved

 

The user of the email address will need to ask the owning BT ID holder to gift the email address to them. The user of the email address will then be asked to set up their own BT ID and password. Once they've done this, assuming they give permission, you'll be able to move the email address.

Once the email address is moved, it will appear in the friends and family section of your email management page.

Your friends and family addresses

 

Yes. It's the same process but you'll have to move each one separately.

Remember, you won't be able to move an email address used by somebody else if:

  • The user of the email address doesn't give their permission
  • It's linked to a BT ID that doesn't belong to the user of the email address
  • It's linked to a BT ID that has other email addresses linked to it and not all of those email addresses are to be moved

Yes. It's the same process.

Remember, you won't be able to move an email address used by somebody else if:

  • The user of the email address doesn't give their permission
  • It's linked to a BT ID that doesn't belong to the user of the email address
  • It's linked to a BT ID that has other email addresses linked to it and not all of those email addresses are to be moved

 

When the last or only email address linked to a Premium email account is moved to another billing account, we'll automatically close the account down.

 

When you move an email address to another account, the email service will automatically be upgraded to the email service that exists on the gaining account.
• Basic email to Broadband  – upgraded to Standard email with all associated features
• Basic email to Premium email  – upgraded to Premium email with all associated features
• Premium email to Broadband  – changed to Standard email so no more adverts. If the last email linked to the Premium email account is moved, we’ll automatically cease the account and stop charging for the service.

Thanks for your feedback

Please select one feedback option

Submit

Need more help?