Premiership rugby fixtures 2022/23: 28 televised matches confirmed for the first three months of the new season

The fixtures for the 2022/23 Gallagher Premiership season have been confirmed with BT Sport to show 74 live matches across the new campaign

By Callum Davis Published: 19 July 2022 - 12.15pm
Premiership Rugby trophy

Champions Leicester Tigers will begin the defence of their crown against two-time winners Exeter Chiefs as the Gallagher Premiership returns with a bang on opening weekend of the 2022/23 season.

After one of the most unpredictable campaigns in living memory, next season has a lot to live up to as 12 teams vye to knock Leicester off their perch.

BT Sport Monthly Pass

Join the home of live sport for just £25 per month. Get instant access to the BT Sport app, with no contract and no BT broadband required.

Last season saw table-topping Tigers beat five-time winners Saracens to claim their first league crown since 2013.

Now the battle to be crowned kings of English rugby resumes less than three months on from the thrilling finale to the 2021/22 campaign with three mouth-watering games to kick the season off in style - live on BT Sport.

In the first of no fewer than 74 live games on BT Sport, it all begins on Friday 9 September as bitter West Country rivals Bristol Bears and Bath raise the curtain on the new season with a Friday-night derby to savour. 

Holders Leicester have been handed a daunting start to the defence of their title with a trip to face two-time champions Exeter Chiefs at fortress Sandy Park on Saturday afternoon. 

Round one comes to its conclusion at Kingsholm on Sunday afternoon as Gloucester, unlucky to miss out on the play-offs last season, host fellow top-four hopefuls Wasps in a meeting between two sides on the up and up.

The following weekend sees London foes Harlequins and Saracens, three months on from their ill-tempered play-off encounter, renew their bitter rivalry at the Twickenham Stoop.

Revenge will be high on the agenda for Quins after their title defence ended in semi-final heartbreak.

Round four sees the BT Sport cameras head to the StoneX Stadium where Saracens will be hoping to avenge their Twickenham defeat to champions Leicester.

An action-packed round six features 2021 champions Quins against holders Leicester - plus Gloucester against Bristol in a old-fashioned West Country dust-up.

Read on for a full list of BT Sport's live coverage of the opening 10 rounds of the Gallagher Premiership.

As ever, every game selected for broadcast on BT Sport will also be available to live stream via the BT Sport app and

Premiership rugby matches on BT Sport

Round 1*

Friday 9 September - Bristol Bears vs Bath (7.45pm KO)

Saturday 10 September - Exeter Chiefs vs Leicester Tigers (3pm KO)

Sunday 11 September - Gloucester vs Wasps (3pm KO)

Round 2

Friday 16 September - Northampton Saints v London Irish (7.45pm KO)

Saturday 17 September - Harlequins v Saracens (3pm KO)

Sunday 18 September - Worcester Warriors vs Exeter Chiefs (3pm KO)

Round 3

Friday 23 September - Bath vs Wasps (7.45pm KO)

Saturday 24 September - Northampton Saints vs Leicester Tigers (3pm KO)

Sunday 25 September - Exeter Chiefs vs Harlequins (3pm KO)

Round 4

Friday 30 September - Newcastle Falcons vs Bristol Bears (7.45pm KO)

Saturday 1 October - Saracens vs Leicester Tigers (3pm KO)

Sunday 2 October - Harlequins vs Northampton Saints (3pm KO)

Round 5

Friday 7 October - Bristol Bears vs Exeter Chiefs (7.45pm KO)

Saturday 8 October - Bath vs Gloucester (3pm KO)

Sunday 9 October - Wasps vs Northampton Saints (3pm KO)

Round 6

Friday 14 October - Sale Sharks vs London Irish (7.45pm KO)

Saturday 15 October - Gloucester vs Bristol Bears (3pm KO)

Sunday 16 October - Harlequins vs Leicester Tigers (3pm KO)

Round 7

Friday 21 October - London Irish vs Gloucester (7.45pm KO)

Saturday 22 October - Exeter Chiefs vs Saracens (3pm KO)

Sunday 23 October - Leicester Tigers vs Wasps (3pm KO)

Round 8

Friday 28 October - Gloucester vs Exeter Chiefs (7.45pm KO)

Saturday 29 October - Harlequins vs London Irish (3pm KO)

Sunday 30 October - Saracens vs Sale Sharks (3pm KO)

Round 9

Friday 4 November - Northampton Saints vs Exeter Chiefs (7.45pm KO)

Saturday 5 November - Sale Sharks vs Gloucester (1pm KO)

Round 10

Friday 11 November - Bath vs Leicester Tigers (7.45pm KO)

Sunday 13 November - Saracens vs Northampton Saints (3pm KO)


*Further TV details to be announced shortly

Click here for full list of 2022/23 Premiership Rugby fixtures 

What can I expect from our Premiership coverage?

Every game shown on BT Sport will also be available to watch online on our enhanced player. With in-built try alerts, it allows you to re-watch key moments with our interactive timeline, meaning you need not miss a single try from what is expected to be an enthralling season.

For an unrivalled viewing experience, selected games will also be available in 4K HDR via BT Sport Ultimate.

Our live coverage will come from the grounds, led by our team of experts and commentators including Ugo Monye, Ben Kay, Lawrence Dallaglio and Austin Healey.

For insight, news and analysis from BT Sport’s expert rugby pundits, Rugby Tonight will round up all of the action from the Premiership and beyond.

Rugby fans will also have more ways to watch live rugby than ever, with the BT Sport Monthly Pass offering no-contract access for one month at a time, for just £25.

BT Sport’s Monthly Pass is available on a wide range of devices and platforms including Samsung smart TV, Sony PlayStation, Xbox, Now TV, Apple TV, as well as mobiles, tablets, BT TV, Sky, TalkTalk and Virgin Media.

BT Sport is the exclusive live home of domestic and European club rugby and the only place you can watch the Gallagher Premiership, Heineken Champions Cup and European Challenge Cup all in one place.

Click here to view the range of BT Sport packages on offer.