How the Rugby World Cup numbers add up ahead of quarter-final stage

Japan will feature in the knock-out stages for the first time at a Rugby World Cup.

By Press Association Published: 16 October 2019 - 9.00am

The top eight teams in the world rankings will contest the World Cup quarter-finals in Japan this weekend.

Here, the PA news agency takes a statistical look at the tournament and the teams remaining.

5 – the most tries scored by a player in the tournament – Wales wing Josh Adams and Japan counterpart Kotaro Matsushima.

Kotaro Matsushima scores against Scotland
Kotaro Matsushima has scored five tries in the tournament (David Davies/PA)

48 – Japan fly-half Yu Tamura is the leading points scorer.

185 – South Africa lead all teams in total points, scoring 27 tries along the way.

9 – Australia, New Zealand and France have each qualified for their ninth World Cup quarter-final to keep up their 100 per cent record of reaching this stage of the competition.

All-time Rugby World Cup quarter-finalists
(PA Graphic)

1 – hosts Japan are making their debut in the knockout stages. England have reached eight quarter-finals, Ireland and South Africa seven and Wales six.

7 – Japan have also reached their highest ever world ranking. World Rugby’s current top eight will contest the quarters, with the hosts’ win over Scotland on Sunday taking them ahead of France who are now ranked eighth. New Zealand lead the way.

333 – New Zealand’s all-time World Cup try tally is over 100 clear of second-placed Australia on 229. Their 2,459 points makes them the only nation over 2,000.

17 – the two-time reigning champions’ winning streak in the competition, with Saturday’s cancellation against Italy discounted.

New Zealand captain Richie McCaw, centre, lifts the World Cup trophy in 2015 flanked by his team
New Zealand have won the last two World Cups and three in total (Gareth Fuller/PA)

4 – past winners of the tournament – New Zealand three times, Australia and South Africa twice apiece and England once.

3 – France have reached three finals without ever winning the tournament.