The Women’s Ashes is underway and every ball from the series will be shown exclusively live on BT Sport.

England are looking to regain the Ashes after a resounding defeat in the multi-format series in 2019.

Australia are ranked No 1 in white-ball cricket and are a formidable side in home conditions, but England captain Heather Knight has vowed to “meet fire with fire” in what should be a fascinating series.

Here’s everything you need to know about the Women’s Ashes on BT Sport.

When is the Women’s Ashes?

The Ashes got underway in Adelaide with three T20 matches (Jan 20, 22 and 23), before the one-off Test match which began on Thursday 27 January in Canberra.

The series concludes with three ODIs (Feb 3, 6 and 8). The first took place in Canberra, with the second and third at Melbourne’s Junction Oval.


Full schedule:

1st Twenty20: January 20, Adelaide - Australia won by nine wickets (Aus 2pts, Aus lead series 2-0)

2nd Twenty20: January 22, Adelaide - No result (1pt each, Aus lead series 3-1)

3rd Twenty20: January 23, Adelaide - No result (1pt each, Aus lead series 4-2)

Test match: January 27-30, Canberra - Match drawn (2pts each, Aus lead series 6-4)

1st ODI: February 3, Canberra - Australia won by 27 runs (Aus 2pts, Aus lead series 8-4)

2nd ODI: February 6, Melbourne - Australia won by five wickets (Aus 2pts, Aus lead series 10-4)

3rd ODI: February 8, Melbourne

Australia’s Meg Lanning with the Ashes trophy ahead of the upcoming series

How does the Women’s Ashes work?

The Women’s Ashes is a multi-format competition which is decided on a points system.

There will be three T20 games followed by a one-off Test and three one-day fixtures.

Four points are awarded for a Test victory (two points to each side in the event of a draw), and two points for a victory in a limited-overs game.

Who won the Women’s Ashes in 2019?

Australia comfortably retained the Ashes in 2019 after a comprehensive win in England.

The one-off Test in Taunton ended in a draw, but the tourists dominated the limited-overs games, winning all three ODIs and two of the three T20s.

Who currently holds the Ashes?

Australia have held the Ashes since 2015 when the regained the urn in England.

A drawn series in 2017/18 was enough for them to retain the Ashes and they held onto the urn after dominating in England in 2019.

Where to watch the Women’s Ashes

BT Sport will show every ball from the Women’s Ashes after renewing its deal with Cricket Australia.

Presenter Jules Breach and former England cricketer Ebony Rainford-Brent will head up proceedings live from the BT Sport studio in London.

The commentary team across the series will feature Alison Mitchell and Jason Richardson alongside a line-up of current and former cricketers including Lydia Greenway, Lisa Sthalekar, Elyse Villani, Holly Ferling, Trent Copeland, Callum Ferguson and Brad Hodge, with additional contributions from five-time winner of the ICC Umpire of the Year Simon Taufel.

Subscribers will be able to follow all the action on TV, the BT Sport app and online.

In addition to being able to watch all the action online and on TV, BT Sport customers will be able to watch every ball live on the BT Sport app with our popular Timeline functionality.

Previously only on your mobile and tablet, it is now available on large screen devices for the very first time.

Part of the Matchday Experience, the Timeline allows fans to re-watch highlights such as boundaries, wickets, dropped catches and more, and move seamlessly back to the live action.

BT Sport customers will be able to watch every ball live on the BT Sport app with our Timeline functionality

How to watch Women’s Ashes highlights

Following the close of each day’s play, short highlights will be available on the BT Sport app, and YouTube shortly after play finishes.

Extended highlights will be available later in the day for BT Sport customers.

Who is in England’s squad?

Five debutants have been named in England’s squad and, for the first time, they will be accompanied by a 12-strong A group to account for Covid disruptions.

England: Heather Knight (captain), Tammy Beaumont, Maia Bouchier, Katherine Brunt, Kate Cross, Freya Davies, Charlie Dean, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, Tash Farrant, Sarah Glenn, Amy Jones, Nat Sciver, Anya Shrubsole, Mady Villiers, Lauren Winfield-Hill, Danni Wyatt

England A squad: Emily Arlott, Lauren Bell, Alice Capsey, Alice Davidson-Richards, Georgia Elwiss, Kirstie Gordon, Eve Jones, Beth Langston, Emma Lamb, Bryony Smith, Ellie Threlkeld, Issy Wong

Who is in Australia’s squad?

Australia: Darcie Brown, Nicola Carey, Hannah Darlington, Ashleigh Gardner, Rachael Haynes, Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Alana King, Meg Lanning (captain), Tahlia McGrath, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland, Tayla Vlaeminck.

Australia A squad: Georgia Redmayne (captain), Maitlan Brown, Erin Burns, Stella Campbell, Nicole Faltum, Tess Flintoff, Heather Graham, Grace Harris, Phoebe Litchfield, Katie Mack, Courtney Sippel, Molly Strano, Elyse Villani, Georgia Voll, Amanda-Jade Wellington.