How do I reset my BT TV box?

We recommend you reset via a button press on the box itself. This will give you the best chance of keeping your recordings, scheduled recordings, and personal settings. And you may have to do this anyway if your box has frozen. Simply choose your box from the options below to get started.

If you're still having problems, or you can still access the menu, you also have the option to reset your BT TV box through the menus. But be aware that this type of reset deletes your recordings and any scheduled recordings. You'll also lose any personal settings you've made to favourites and playlists.

If you've bought any films on your BT TV box, please allow 24 hours after the reset for your 'Purchases' to reappear.

 

Reset your BT TV box through the buttons on the box

 

  1. Switch the box off and then back on again. A red light should appear on the front panel

    Switch box off and on again to see the red light
  2. Press and hold the down arrow button (1) on top of your box for five seconds until you see ‘Enter Maintenance Mode Y/N’ at the bottom of the screen. When you see this, press the standby/power button (2)


  3. After a few seconds you’ll see the ‘Maintenance Mode’ menu. Choose and select Factory Reset, keep recordings using the arrow buttons. This option will allow you to keep your recordings, scheduled recordings, and any personal settings you've made to favourites and playlists
If you're still having problems:

  • Choose the Factory Reset, delete recordings option - just be aware that this type of reset will delete your recordings and any scheduled recordings. You'll also lose any personal settings you've made to favourites and playlists
  • The reset will take a few minutes
  • Once done, you’ll see the first-time set-up screens. Just follow the on-screen instructions to complete the reset
  1. Switch the box off and then back on again. A red light should appear on the front panel

    Switch box off and on again to see the red light
  2. Press and hold the down arrow button (1) on top of your box for five seconds until you see ‘Enter Maintenance Mode Y/N’ at the bottom of the screen. When you see this, press the standby/power button (2)


  3. After a few seconds you’ll see the ‘Maintenance Mode’ menu. Choose and select Factory Reset, keep recordings using the arrow buttons. This option will allow you to keep your recordings, scheduled recordings, and any personal settings you've made to favourites and playlists
If you're still having problems:

  • Choose the Factory Reset, delete recordings option - just be aware that this type of reset will delete your recordings and any scheduled recordings. You'll also lose any personal settings you've made to favourites and playlists
  • The reset will take a few minutes
  • Once done, you’ll see the first-time set-up screens. Just follow the on-screen instructions to complete the reset
  1. Switch the box off then back on again using the switch on the back of your box. A red light should appear on the front panel
  2. Press and hold the VOL button for five seconds until you see ‘Enter Maintenance Mode Y/N’ at the bottom of the screen. When you see this, press the standby/power button on the front of the box
  3. After a few seconds you’ll see the ‘Maintenance Mode’ menu. Choose and select Factory Reset, keep recordings using the arrow buttons. This option will allow you to keep your recordings, scheduled recordings, and any personal settings you've made to favourites and playlists
If you're still having problems:

  • Choose the Factory Reset, delete recordings option - just be aware that this type of reset will delete your recordings and any scheduled recordings. You'll also lose any personal settings you've made to favourites and playlists
  • The reset will take a few minutes
  • Once done, you’ll see the first-time set-up screens. Just follow the on-screen instructions to complete the reset
  1. Unplug then reconnect the mains power to the box. A red light should appear
  2. Press and hold the down arrow button on your remote control until you see ‘Enter Maintenance Mode Y/N’ at the bottom of the screen
  3. When you see this, press the standby/power button on the box. You need to press the standby/power button within five seconds, otherwise you’ll need to start from step one again
  4. After a few seconds you’ll see the ‘Maintenance Mode’ menu. Choose and select Factory Reset using the arrow buttons
The reset will take a few minutes. Once done, you’ll see the first-time set-up screens. Just follow the on-screen instructions to complete the reset.
 

Reset your BT TV box through the menus

 

Remember that this type of reset will delete your recordings and any scheduled recordings. You'll also lose any personal settings you've made to favourites and playlists.

  1. Go to the main menu by pressing the blue Home (or YouView) button on your remote
  2. From the main menu, scroll along and select Settings
  3. In the settings menu, scroll down to Information & Reset and select Factory Reset from the list


  4. You'll now see a warning screen. Remember all of your recordings and personal data will be deleted

    Warning screen
  5. If you want to continue, just enter the numbers shown on the screen using your remote. The reset will take a few minutes
  6. Once done, you'll see the first time set up screens. Just follow the on-screen instructions to complete the reset

Thanks for your feedback

Please select one feedback option

Submit

Need more help?