How do I reset my BT Hub to its factory settings

Resetting a BT Hub to factory settings takes the Hub right back to how it was when you first got it. It will overwrite any changes you might have made since.

A factory reset is not the same as 'power cycling' or restarting the Hub. We recommend restarting the Hub as it won't affect any changes you've made to its settings.

Learn how to restart your Hub >

We'd only recommend a factory reset as a last resort. After a factory reset, you'll need to restore any changes you might have made to the Hub. 

When you reset your Hub to its factory settings, you'll lose all updates to the Hub including wireless network name and password updates.

""

 

 

  1. The factory reset button is on the back of the Hub just above the power socket
  2. With the Hub switched on, push the reset button for five seconds and then release it
  3. The Hub will now reset. This can take up to five minutes to complete
  4. When the light on the front of the Hub has returned to a stable blue colour, you can continue
  5. To reconnect to the Hub, you'll need to use the default SSID name and password on the back of the Hub
  6. The admin password will also have been reset to the default value 

 

  1. Find the recessed "Factory Reset" pinhole button on the back of your Hub
  2. Using a paper clip or similar press the button and hold for 20 seconds. Your Hub lights will go out and your Hub will restart
  3. Wait a few minutes for the Hub lights to settle. The central Power light will go blue when the Hub is ready to use

After a factory reset, you'll be guided through the Smart Setup on all your devices (like when you first set up your Hub).

Find out more about Smart Setup >

""

""

 

  1. Find the recessed "Reset" pinhole button on the back of your Hub
  2. Using a paper clip or similar press the button and hold for 20 seconds. Your Hub lights will go out and your Hub will restart
  3. Wait a few minutes for the Hub lights to settle. The central Power light will go blue and the Broadband light will be off

After a factory reset, you'll be guided through the Smart Setup on all your devices (like when you first set up your Hub). Find out more about Smart Setup.

""

 

  1. Find the recessed "Reset" button on the back of your Hub
  2. Using a paper clip or similar press the button and hold for 20 seconds. Your Hub lights will go out and your Hub will restart
  3. Wait for the Hub's Broadband light to glow solid blue. This may take several minutes. 

Thanks for your feedback

Please select one feedback option

Submit
Email this page

Need more help?